Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

18th Annual Statewide Meeting

“Changing Waters: Adaptation and Resilience”

January 12, 2012 @ 10:00 am 6:30 pm MST

8:00 – 8:30 AM           Registration

8:30 – 9:00 AM           Introductions/Opening Remarks

9:00 – 11:00 AM         Panel: Future Challenges

                                    Professor David Gutzler, Ph.D., Earth and Planetary Sciences, UNM

                                    Professor Emeritus G. Emlen Hall, UNM Law School

                                    Craig D. Allen, Ph.D., research ecologist, USGS Jemez Mts. Field Station

                                    Janice Arnold-Jones, former State Representative

11:00 – 11:15 AM       Break

11:15 – 12:00 PM       Keynote Speaker:  Judge Matthew G. Reynolds 

                                    “How We Can Prepare for the Great Drought of the 21st Century” 

12:00 – 1:00 PM         Lunch

1:00 – 2:45 PM           Panel: Adaptation & Resilience 

                                    Claudia Borchert, Santa Fe Water Division

                                    John Leeper, PE, PhD, former Manager, Navajo Nation                                                                   Water Management Branch

                                    Paul Tashjian, Hydrologist, Water Resources, US Fish & Wildlife Service

                                    Yvette Tovar, Exec. Director, NM Water Collaborative

2:45 – 3:00 PM           Break

3:00 – 4:00 PM           New Mexico Water Administration – What’s next?

                                   Amy Haas, General Counsel, NM Interstate Stream Commission – 
                                   “Hot Topics”

                                   John Fleck, Science Writer, Albuquerque Journal – Reflections on the day

                                   Panel and Participant Dialogue: Lucy Moore, Moderator; Amy Haas; Craig Allen,                                      USGS; Aron Balok, PVACD

4:00 – 4:30 PM           Closing Remarks: Next Steps for the Dialogue and New Mexicans

                                     Nominations of candidates for the Dialogue BoardRelated contentDavid Gutzler presentationAmy Haas presentationCraig Allen presentationClaudia Borchert presentationPaul Tashjian presentationJohn Leeper presentationCraig Allen presentation (PM)Bruce Thomson presentation

Indian Pueblo Cultural Center

Albuquerque, New Mexico United States + Google Map