Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

17th Annual Statewide Meeting

Economic Stress: Hard Times for Water Planning and Management

January 13, 2011 @ 10:00 am 6:30 pm MST

8:00           On-site registration

8:30           Welcome and introductions

8:45           Keynote:  Dr. Janie Chermak, UNM Econ.Dept.

                  “Water Planning in Hard Times:  Playing the Odds”

 9:45          Break

10:00          Panel – Economic Stress: Impacts on Growth, Water and Land Use 

                  Moderator:  John Fleck, Science Writer, Abq. Journal

                  Dr. Lee Reynis, Director, Bureau of Business and Economic Research, UNM

                  Susan Kelly, Director, Utton Center, UNM School of Law

                  Peter Russell, Community Development Director, Town of Silver City

                  Dale Dekker, AIA, AICP, architect, Dekker, Perich, Sabatini

                  Denise Fort, Professor, UNM School of Law

                  Duncan Sill, Economic Development Specialist, Santa Fe County

11:30         Lunch

12:30         Keynote:  Dr. David Feldman, Chair Department of Planning, Policy and Design,              University of California at Irvine — Water Planning in an Era of Diminishing              Resources – More Essential than Ever”

1:15           Panel – Update on the 2010 State Water Plan

                  John D’Antonio, State Engineer

                  Estevan Lopez, Director, Interstate Stream Commission

                  John Leeper, Department of Water Resources, Navajo Nation

                  Representative Mimi Stewart

2:15           Break

2:30             Panel – Challenges in Regional Water Planning

                  Angela Bordegaray, Senior Water Planner, Interstate Stream Commission

                  Dick Smith, Board Member, Pecos Valley Artesian Conservancy District

                  Steve Hernandez, Attorney, Las Cruces

                  John Jones, Vice President, Estancia Basin Water Planning Committee; Legislative                                  Chair, Rural Water Association; COO, Entranosa Water & Wastewater Assoc.

                  Simeon Herskovits, Attorney, Taos                    

3:45           Summation and Nominations for the Dialogue Board of DirectorsRelated contentDale Dekker presentationDenise Fort presentationLee Reynis presentationDuncan Sill presentationDavid Feldman – keynote presentationSimeon Herskovits presentation